Gu Family Book vs Jang Ok Jung

GuFamilyBookPoster JangOkJungPoster
D-Day is finally here! Fans of Lee Seung Gi & Miss A’s Suzy as well as fans of Kim Tae Hee & Yoo Ah In has been waiting for more than 2 months for this day to come. If you are not one of them, may be you are not aware that tonight is the premiere episode for Gu Family Book, starring Lee Seung Gi & Suzy and its rival Jang Ok Jung, starring Kim Tae Hee & Yoo Ah In from another broadcasting channel.

From the surface, both dramas have lot of similarities. The most significant one is both were categorized under Saeguk/Historical genre that have big fanbase among K-Drama viewers in South Korea. There are many Saeguk dramas has become super hit worldwide like ‘Jewel in The Palace’, ‘Queen Seondeok’, ‘The Moon That Embraces The Sun’ and ‘The Princess’ Man’, to name but a few. But there is also one big difference between these two where the former is fictional/mythical saeguk while the latter is based on true story. I wonder how these two dramas will fair because viewers have two options to choose now.

In term of popularity, Gu Family Book have Lee Seung Gi which also known as ‘Nation’s Younger Brother’ while Jang Ok Jung have Kim Tae Hee, one of nation’s most beautiful actresses. Both of them are equally popular and have their own loyal fans that will occupy the front seat without fail.

To make things more interesting, idols were recruited to draw interest among younger generations to watch saeguk/historical drama. I’m not sure how this strategy is going to work because in my opinion, K-Pop fans and K-Dramas fans are 2 different entities, but it’s not a sin to give it a try.

Please keep in mind that fanbases not only applied for idols because actors and actresses also have the own fanbases. So, are we going to see an intense competition between two fanbases tonight? Remember, this is not the battle of ratings only but also the battle of talents, great acting, best storyline and directing as well. Which drama is going to win the first battle? We have to wait until later tonight!

P/S: KBS’s God of the Workplace also sharing the time slot for viewership ratings.

Advertisements

About joenjohana

I'm crazy about Kdrama, Lee Seung Gi and Ha Ji Won.
This entry was posted in KDrama and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s